The purpose of this article is to explain what Invalid results are in EqualTo.
Results in EqualTo are based on data in EqualTo DataTables. Sometimes, either purposefully or due to user error, data in these tables is removed or changed in a way that causes an existing Result in EqualTo to become “Invalid”.
When a result becomes Invalid, the following occurs:
- The result status becomes “Invalid” and can be found on the “Invalid” tab of the Results page.
- Correction transactions are created to remove any rewards that have been allocated to the invalidated result.
If the invalid result is restored, the following occurs:
- The result reverts back to its previous status:
- Results that were previously Approved, Rejected, and Paused will revert back to that stage.
- Results that were previously In Review will begin their approval process from the first step.
- Any associated transactions will be restored, and the full reward for that result will be allocated to the beneficiary.
What causes results to become invalidated
The following are scenarios that can result in results becoming invalidated:
- CRM and other Integration Changes: If your EqualTo Data Tables are synced to an outside data source (for example, Salesforce, Hubspot, PipeDrive), data that is deleted there can sync back to EqualTo. For example, if a plan keeps syncing with Salesforce and an Opportunity is deleted in your Salesforce org, the result associated with this Opportunity will also be invalidated in EqualTo.
- SQL Changes: Changes to the SQL used in an EqualTo SQL data table could cause results to no longer show up in a data table.
- Data table filter changes: A user makes a mistake when updating the filtering on a data table, which causes results to no longer show up in a data table.
- CRM account used for the integration is changed: A user changes their CRM integration user to a different one, which no longer has access to all of the same opportunities in their CRM. The data tables that use the CRM data no longer include all of the results that it did previously.
- User ID Changes: If the User ID is used as a way to link a user as the beneficiary for a result, changing the ID can result in a result becoming invalid if there is no longer a matching user.
- User is retroactively moved to another team: If a user is retroactively moved to another team, it’s possible that some of their results during that period will become invalid if there is no longer an associated plan.
- The plan duration is changed: If the plan duration is changed and it no longer is applicable during the result’s effective period, the result will become invalid.
Here is an example of how CRM data changes could result in an Invalid Result:
- Your EqualTo instance is synced with your Salesforce org, so that Closed Opportunities in Salesforce become Results for your sales reps in EqualTo.
- One Result, “Airbnb”, has already been fully approved.
- The Results has also already been included in a closed payout.
Then: Someone in the Salesforce organization deletes the Airbnb Opportunity. This information would sync back to EqualTo, resulting in the Reward becoming “Invalid”.
- Invalid Results can be found on the “Invalid” tab of the Results page.
- The Airbnb Result is now on the “Invalid” tab instead of the “Approved” tab.
- If you click on the result, you will see that a new pending transaction has been created to cancel out any rewards associated with the invalid result.
- Other relevant information is stored, including the invalidation date.
Invalid results can be restored. In this scenario, for example, the invalid result would be restored when the opportunity in Salesforce was restored:
- If the Airbnb Result’s deletion in Salesforce is reversed, it would go back to its previous approval status: Approved.
- The reward value would no longer be reversed for the result.
Standard users cannot view the Invalid tab on the Results page. This is visible to super users, finance admins, result admins, plan owners, and plan admins.